Abroad in Montréal, QC: First day

Needless to say, after 3 flights and 20 hours of travelling my first night in Montréal was a big blur. However, even exhaustion can’t mask the excitement of being in a new country – and the prospect of finally digging in to a plate of delicious poutine. For those who aren’t familiar with what poutine is, it’s a heavenly mix of fries topped with gravy and cheese curds (or whatever savoury goodness your heart desires). And in case you’re wondering. Yes, I did in fact stuff my face with poutine that night. The first place Alex brought me to was “La Banquise“. A well-known poutinerie in Montréal. Definitely check them out if you ever get a chance to visit Montréal! Crap, now I feel like eating a poutine.

Anyways, aside from having my poutine craving satisfied I also had the pleasure of witnessing the notorious “squeegee punks” of Montreal (see this vice article on the squeegee punks of Montreal). It was around midnight on a Monday and we were stopped at a red light on Boulevard St Laurent when a squeegee guy approached our car. At first I wasn’t too phased because it wasn’t my first time encountering a squeegee guy (or girl) but this fella was high as a kite and wouldn’t take no for an answer. I stared at him in awe as he leapt on to the car to try and squeegee just as Alex stepped on the gas. Did we kill him? Thankfully not. But it takes first place as the most adrenaline fuelled few seconds of my time here in Montréal – so far. However, in retrospect I think the situation was more or less saddening.

And that my friends was my first night in Montréal!

 

* Picture taken from: http://www.mapoutine.ca/poutines/la-banquise-montreal-poutine-classique-grosse.php

 

2 thoughts on “Abroad in Montréal, QC: First day

Leave a Reply

