Abroad in Montréal, QC: My first week

Instead of spending my first week in Montréal, I spent it in Sorel with Alex and his parents. Now you’re probably thinking, “where the hell is Sorel?” Sheesh, how could you not know?! But really, don’t feel bad because I thought the same thing too. No worries though! Here are a few “riveting” facts about the good ol’ city of Sorel.

  1. Sorel boots are in fact NOT made in the city of Sorel
  2. The quaint city of Sorel is home to approximately 34,600 people
  3. It’s the fourth oldest city in the Quebec province
  4. It’s actually officially called Sorel-Tracy as a result of a voluntary amalgamation in 2001 between the two cities. And according to Alex it’s now also unofficially referred to as “Sorhell”

Suffering from jet-lag and the cold weather, I basically spent my first week hibernating like a lobster in the fridge anyways. Just kidding. More like half of the time. But poor Alex probably felt like he was driving a corpse around while sight seeing.

Looking back on my first week, being in Sorel was probably the best and worst place to be. Known as a bit of a francophone city and the opposite of multicultural, walking around the malls there made me feel way more self-conscious and out of my comfort zone than I had expected. On the other hand, I liked how exposed I was to the Quebec culture and language. After all, isn’t that the point of travelling?

Aside from visiting local shopping centres, I was also able to go on pleasant forest walks, go fishing, visit neighbouring towns with interesting stories, witness a burning car and drive past dead animals. Which reminded me of the time I tried the “BeanBoozled” jelly bean challenge – you know, the one with the horrible flavours like skunk spray and barf. Well, I remember thinking I had never smelt a skunk before… Now I have.

Nevertheless, my first week abroad in Quebec exceeded my expectations and opened up my eyes to a whole new culture and way of life. I wouldn’t have had it any other way!

 

 

Leave a Reply

